

## 131<sup>st</sup> MAINE SENATE

April 10, 2023

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg, Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave., SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Buttigieg,

We are pleased to send this letter in strong support of the Maine Department of Transportation's (MaineDOT) application for funding through the Federal Transit Administration Low or No Emission Grant Program. MaineDOT, in partnership with seven Maine transit agencies, all of which provide transit services to communities we represent in the Maine State Senate, is seeking funding for low and no emissions buses and vans for transit service across Maine, including associated infrastructure and staff training and workforce development.

Annual ridership for the 7 participating agencies combined in calendar year 2021 was 1.7 million. This continues to reflect the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic; in calendar year 2019, the ridership exceeded 3.5 million boardings. As of March 2023, the combined agency bus fleet consists of 90 diesel, 56 gasoline, 10 compressed natural gas (CNG) and 4 electric vehicles; these vehicles are used to operate 46 year-round routes, five seasonal routes and several demandresponse services.

If awarded this grant funding several of the existing diesel and gasoline vehicles will be replaced with hybrid and electric vehicles, expanding access to clean and sustainable transportation for thousands of Maine transit riders. The supporting infrastructure, which includes vehicle chargers, will ensure that these vehicles operate reliably and efficiently for the duration of their useful lives. Furthermore, the training and workforce development will ensure a skilled, diverse, and sustainable labor pool.

We strongly support MaineDOT's grant application for this important project and are hopeful that you will give their application your full consideration and award the requested funding.

Sincerely,

Benjamin M. Chipman Chair, Transportation Committee

Anne Carney State Senator

Am Ture

Jill C. Duson State Senator

Tranobley Need &

Timothy E. Nangle Chair, State and Local Committee

Matthe Aurongt

Matthew Harrington State Senator